UAlg joins the European University of the Seas

The proposal of the European University of the Seas (SEA-EU), coordinated by the University of Cadiz, has been positively evaluated, obtaining the support and funding of 14,400,000 euros from the European Commission (ERASMUS+) for another four years. The main novelty is the incorporation of three new partners, including the University of Algarve.

The proposal now approved, SEA-EU 2.0, has achieved the renewal of the alliance, which is a success for the whole consortium, now officially formed by nine universities: the University of Cadiz, which continues as coordinator, the University of West Brittany (France), the University of Kiel (Germany), the University of Gdansk (Poland), the University of Split (Croatia), the University of Malta (Malta), the University of Algarve (Portugal), the University of Naples Parthenope (Italy) and the University of Nord (Norway).

The European University of the Seas was able to renew this label and funding through a proposal entitled "SEA-EU FOR ALL", an evolution of what the Alliance has been developing in its first three years, since 2019, when it embarked on the path to transforming Higher Education through a "Super Campus" formed so far by six universities.

This transnational campus, now with nine universities and more than 20 cities involved, hosts more than 150,000 students and 18,000 employees who will benefit from the goals at the heart of this proposal. More mobility for all, inclusion, multilingualism, and personal and professional development, available due to a wide network of shared resources.

In his first statements, the rector of the University of Algarve, Paulo Águas, considers that "the project of creating the European University Alliances will mark the future of higher education in the European space, as well as in UAlg".

At a regional level, SEA-EU also counts with the following effective partners: Algarve Regional Coordination and Development Commission (CCDR Algarve); Algarve Intermunicipal Community (AMAL); Docapesca - Portos e Lotas; Center for Marine Sciences (CCMAR), Portuguese Institute of Sea and Atmosphere (IPMA) Association for a Sustainable and Intelligent Aquaculture (S2AQUA )- Collaborative Laboratory; Algarve Living Science Center (CCV Algarve), Association of Marine Sciences and Cooperation (SCIAENA), Águas do Algarve; and Algarve Tourism Region (RTA).

This is undoubtedly great news for the University of Algarve and the region, which thus strengthen its European commitment and its international connection to the sea.

More information about the European University of the Seas

Consult press kit


The Governing Board of the Alliance “European University of the Seas” (SEA-EU) composed of the Universities of...